Jim Joyce, Wally Bell: Respective Living Legends

Image

I’ve been doing this thing lately where every time I go to the sox game, I lookup the umpiring crew and pick out one who seems most legendary, and proceed to chat them up the whole game.  You see, my best friend and dear cousin, Buster Pujols, has season tickets to the Sox right on the third base line, so this is quite the common occurrence.

The two most memorable had to be Jim “Big Daddy Smooth” Joyce, and Wally “RedWood” Bell.  Yes, I completely fabricated those nicknames.

Long Story short, I was reminiscing about my short, but beautiful, interactions with my two umpire homies, and I got to thinking.  If I troll the inter-web long enough, I’m sure I can find some albeit amazing vids of ridiculous umpire calls.  Then I stumbled on this gold mine.

At first I thought this dude was semi-annoying. And then BOOM. Big Papa busts out moves I haven’t seen since the Thriller music video.

 

There’s a ton of these on youtube. They’re so entertaining I don’t even know how I’m going to bed tonight.  Check this dude out.

 

 

I’m sorry…was that the Macarena? Takes pure guts to flaunt this much as an ump.  Real grit just to take all the attention off the kids and place it upon yourself.  Power move, Ump.  That’s how you command respect.

Slow day for analysis and such in case you couldn’t tell, keep checking back for posts on the daily though kids.

As always,

Bobcat

Oh and here’s one more that I really shouldn’t include considering it is softball, but whatever. It’s not everyday Bruce Lee comes back from the nether regions to call a game.  In Hawaii no less.

 

Leave a Reply

